Blogathons coming up

I just wanted to mention that I’ve been asked to take part in a couple of blogathons on classic movie themes which are coming up soon, and am looking forward to both of them.

First off, KC at Classic Movies is organising the Mary Pickford Blogathon on June 1, 2 and 3 – I will be writing a posting about Pickford’s silent film Daddy Long Legs (1919). There are a lot of bloggers taking part, including some experts on Mary Pickford (I don’t know much about her, must admit!), so I’m looking forward to learning a lot more about her work and the era of silent film. I think it is still possible to sign up to take part in this blogathon if you are interested.

Then from June 24-29, R.D. Finch will be running the William Wyler Blogathon at his blog The Movie Projector, to mark the 110th anniversary of Wyler’s birth.  I am going to contribute a piece about Wuthering Heights (1939), starring Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon. The line-up for this blogathon has been finalised and it has a wide range of bloggers who will be covering many different Wyler films.

I’ll mention both of these events again nearer the time, but just wanted to give a heads-up now. Please do visit both KC and R.D.’s sites to find out more about what is planned, and thanks to both of them for all their hard work in organising these events!

5 thoughts on “Blogathons coming up

  1. CagneyFan

    Judy, thanks for the heads up. I’ve just now read the list of movies and bloggers for the Wm Wyler’thon; looks great. Hv seen almost all the movies on the list, so I’ll be looking forward to the various posts and especially to yours on WH. Don’t recall ever having seen a Mary Pickford, so that ‘thon will be a good way to learn more about her. Thanks again.

    Reply
  2. Judy Post author

    Thanks, CagneyFan, I’m looking forward to both of these blogathons. There are still some of the Wylers that I want to see before the discussion starts, and I don’t know much at all about Mary Pickford beyond ‘Daddy Long Legs’, so am looking forward to learning more.

    Reply
  3. Sam Juliano

    Judy–

    I can’t wait for your sure-to-be-extraordinary review on WUTHERING HEIGHTS, one of my absolute favorite Wylers, and one of the 1939 crown jewels for all sorts of reasons. R.D. Finch will host a spectacular blogothon I’m sure. And you have piqued my interest too in the Mary Pickford blogothon! I’ll be sure to check in, and of course look forward to your DADDY LONG LEGS review!

    Reply
    1. Judy Post author

      Thanks very much, Sam – I’m looking forward to taking part in both events, and of course to reading all the other contributions.

  4. Pingback: Elena; Moonrise Kingdom; Oslo, August 31st; and stage play ‘The Caretaker’ by Harold Pinter on Tuesday Morning Diary (May 29) « Wonders in the Dark

Leave a Reply

