Article on films about the Great Depression

Belatedly, I’ve discovered an article which appeared on the Guardian newspaper’s film blog a few weeks ago, where film critic Ronald Bergan looks at what he thinks were some of the greatest movies to come out of the Great Depression, and speculates about whether there will be any equally memorable films dealing with the current economic crisis. Thought I’d pass on the link in case others are interested. I’ve only seen three of those he lists – The Public Enemy (1931), I Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang (1932) and Man’s Castle (1932), all of which are brilliant – but hoping to see some of the others as soon as possible.

3 thoughts on “Article on films about the Great Depression

  1. Thanks for the link. Coincidently, I watched “I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang” yesterday and started doing an article for my blog. Still need to watch “Man’s Castle” which I keep saying I am going to do however, always find something else to watch instead. “Duck Soup” is excellent Marx Brothers, total anarchy.

    Like

  2. I’m pretty sure I have seen ‘Duck Soup’ years ago, but don’t remember it apart from a general impression of Marx Brothers craziness. Look forward to reading your review of ‘I Am A Fugitive From a Chain Gang’ – and maybe to hearing what you think of ‘Man’s Castle’ when you get to it. I also have stacks of films I want to see and, sadly, limited time to see them in!

    Like

  3. I’m impressed by the choice of movie and it’s a sorrow to me that the only one I’ve seen is _Public Enemy No 1_. I suspect the others have been rarely played on TV and until recently (with the DVD revolution) not easily available.

    Ellen

    Like

Leave a Reply

