William A. Wellman films I’ve reviewed so far…

William A. Wellman

William A. Wellman

How exciting that the William A. Wellman blogathon starts today! I’ll be contributing a posting about one of his lesser-known films, the Second World War propaganda drama Thunder Birds – the reason I’ve chosen that one is that I’ve been trying to review his films in vaguely chronological order and that is the one I’ve got up to (though there are still a few earlier rarities I haven’t caught up with as yet).  My main love is his pre-Code work but I do want to get back into writing about his later films too.

Here’s a list of all those I’ve reviewed here so far in this intermittent project, with links:

I also reviewed a later film, his great Western Track of the Cat (1954) for the Western countdown at the Wonders in the Dark website, and I recently contributed a piece about Wild Boys of the Road to the childhood films countdown there (not the same as my piece on this blog).

If anyone wants more, my Wellman page (which I haven’t kept up very well, sorry) also has mini-reviews of  The Great Man’s Lady (1942), Lady of Burlesque (1943), The Ox-Bow Incident (1943), Buffalo Bill (1944), The Story of G.I. Joe (1945), Magic Town (1947), Yellow Sky (1948), Battleground (1949), The Happy Years (1950), Across the Wide Missouri (1951), Westward the Women (1951), Island in the Sky (1953), The High and the Mighty (1954), Blood Alley (1955) and Darby’s Rangers (1958). 

Not that I’m obsessed, or anything…

Anyway, I hope to have my posting for the blogathon up soon, and am looking forward to reading everyone’s postings!

2 thoughts on “William A. Wellman films I’ve reviewed so far…

  1. Looking at your list of reviews reminds me of what a great range Wellman had. He seemed to be able to adapt to any genre though at heart I think he was an action director. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite. If I had a gun held to my head – maybe a tie between Public Enemy and the Ox-Bow Incident?

    Like

    • Sorry I failed to reply to this comment, Bea! Yes, I agree he had a great range – and those are two great choices. I can’t pick just one favourite either, but both of those would be up there,

      Like

Leave a Reply

